How Can ‘Fault’ Or ‘No Fault’ Impact My Auto Accident Claim In Louisiana?
In Louisiana, you do have to prove fault of the driver who hit you in order to make a claim. That can be a long process and a fairly complicated process, and is completely different than states where they are in a no fault regime.
What Is The General Personal Injury Process Like For An Auto Accident Claim In Louisiana?
You have a one year period after the accident to bring a claim. If you’ve been in an accident and you think that the accident has caused physical injury of any kind, it’s important to speak to an attorney about it. You’re entitled to make a claim. In Louisiana and many other states, a person who injures someone else by their negligence is obligated to pay for that. It can include medical costs, pain and suffering, economic damages, and other things. As a client seeks medical treatment, we make sure that the insurer or the at-fault party pays for that, and that they’re fully compensated for every possible aspect of their claim.
What Is The Statute Of Limitations For Bringing An Auto Accident Injury Claim In Louisiana?
You have one year to make a claim, in Louisiana, against anyone who is causing damages by their negligence. That encompasses car accidents and anything else where someone’s negligence results in damage to a person.
How Soon Should Someone Seek Medical Attention After Being Injured In An Auto Accident?
Every person is different and not everyone has pain immediately after an accident. Sometimes, you get into an accident and it’s not until a week or longer after the accident that you really start realizing that you’ve got pain from this. If you go months after the accident without ever seeking any medical attention, it can certainly be problematic because it may appear to a court that you weren’t injured in the accident. Time is important. You don’t want to let an unreasonable amount of time go by if you are hurt. Whether there’s an accident or not, for any kind of injury, you need to seek medical attention as soon as you become aware that you are injured.
How Important Is Following Doctor’s Orders And Recommendations In A Personal Injury Case?
It’s very important to follow your doctor’s instructions for your care. You don’t want to ignore your medical treatment because that will look, to the insurance company, as if you aren’t hurt anymore. However, there are certainly instances where you’ll miss appointments and your life will interfere with your medical treatment, and that’s not going to negatively impact your case.
How Long Does It Take To Receive Funds After A Settlement Is Reached In A Personal Injury Case?
In Louisiana, if an insurance company enters into a settlement agreement with the claimant, it has 30 days to pay that settlement. If it doesn’t pay within 30 days, it can be subject to additional penalties and damages. In most cases, once a settlement agreement is reached, it’s a matter of days before the client is paid.
For more information on Fault In A Louisiana Auto Accident Claim, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (225) 308-7004 today.
Call Now For A Free Case Evaluation